A new computer,

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

Post Reply
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

A new computer,

Post by Isaac » Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:27 am

I was thinking of going to a new system soon. I do a lot of 3d graphic work so i was looking into high end systems. What do you think of these two?
boxx.com wrote:Intel Xeon Processors
Intel® E7525 Chipset
EM64T processor support
Dual Channel DDR2-400 (8) DIMMs Reg ECC
(2) Serial ATA ports (RAID 0, 1)
(2) Parallel ATA IDE interface (4 devices)
(2) Gigabit Ethernet ports
6 channel audio (Front Panel Microphone + Audio Out)
(3) IEEE1394 Ports: (1) Front, (2) Rear
(6) USB 2.0 Ports: (2) Front, (4) Rear
(1) Serial port
(1) Parallel port
Floppy Drive
600W Power Supply
4U: 7"w x 17"h x 18"d


Expansion options:
Dual Channel U320 SCSI
(1) PCI Express x16
(1) PCI Express x4 using x16
(1) PCI-X 64/133
(2) PCI-X 64/100


dell.com wrote:Dell Precision 470
Date 2/19/2006 3:21:48 AM Central Standard Time
Catalog Number 5 Retail 555
Catalog Number / Description Product Code SKU Id
Dell Precision Workstation 470:
Dual-Core Intel® Xeon™ Processor 2.80GHz, 2x2MB L2 cache 4D28D [222-0378] 1
2nd Processor (Must match speed selection above):
Dual-Core Intel® Xeon™ Processor 2.80GHz, 2x2MB L2 cache PR28D [311-5439] 2
Operating System:
Genuine Windows® XP Professional, SP2 with Media XPP2E [420-4860] 11
File System:
NTFS File System NTFS [420-3699] 13
Memory:
4GB, DDR2 SDRAM Memory, 400MHz, ECC (4 DIMMS) 4GE4 [310-4971] 3
Hard Drive Configuration:
C1- All SATA drives, Non-RAID, 1 drive total configuration SATA12 [341-1189] 9
Boot Hard Drive:
80GB SATA, 7200 RPM Hard Drive with DataBurst Cache™ without RAID 80SAT [341-1138] 8
CD-ROM, DVD, and Read-Write Devices:
48X CD-ROM CD48 [313-1304] 16
Graphic Cards:
64MB PCIe x16 nVidia Quadro NVS 280, Dual VGA Capable NV64V [320-3961] 6
Monitors:
Dell 17 inch M783 (16 inch viewable) Flat CRT M783S [320-3748] 5
Mouse:
Dell USB 2-Button Mechanical Mouse with Scroll ELD [310-5203] 12
Speakers:
Internal Chassis Speaker,Dell INTSPK [313-2666] 18
Keyboard:
Entry Level, USB, No Hot Keys U [320-3811] 4
Floppy Drive Options:
3.5 inch 1.44MB Floppy Drive FD [341-0497] 10
Energy Star:
Energy Star™ ES [310-4821] 50
Resource CD:
No Resource CD NORCD [313-3673] 21
Hardware Support Services:
3 Year Business Standard Plan PAD3YR [981-8388][983-2207][983-2217][900-6212][900-7370][902-4902] 29
Installation Services:
No Onsite System Setup NOINSTL [900-9987] 32
dual-channel DDR2 400MHz SDRAM memory
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15164
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:05 am

If I were going for a performance computer right now, I would only get Intel CPUs if there was absolutely no other choice. Serously think about finding someone who will make you a system using AMD X2 processors.
Lehm
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm

Post by Lehm » Sun Feb 19, 2006 12:26 pm

Ditto. Or if you have the money spring for Opteron even.
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re:

Post by Isaac » Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:07 pm

Lehm wrote:Ditto. Or if you have the money spring for Opteron even.


No kidding. I was thinking of getting a loan for this.
User avatar
Immortal Lobster
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:25 pm

Post by Immortal Lobster » Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:09 am

Actually, you could pick up a 939 Opteron for less then an X2, its what I did, they OC incredibly well too.
I bought this 165 for 320, its OCed to a little over an X2 4800(800 at the time when i bought this one) the only thing stopping me from going further is this blasted motherboard.

and to my understanding, EMT64 will not be compatable with 64bit Vistas, its being built for AMD64.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15164
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:32 pm

Intel licensed AMD64, 64bit vista will work on Intel chips.
User avatar
Mobius
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
Posts: 7940
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:49 pm

You need a 600 watt PSU like you need another hole in your head.

Another Vote for AMD.
User avatar
Immortal Lobster
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:25 pm

Post by Immortal Lobster » Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:21 pm

Intel didnt license AMD64, and EMT64 isnt straight compatable with AMD64
User avatar
VonVulcan
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Tacoma, Wa, USA
Contact:

Post by VonVulcan » Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:42 pm

Let the flaming begin!
(20:12) STRESSTEST: Im actually innocent this time
User avatar
Immortal Lobster
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:25 pm

Post by Immortal Lobster » Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:32 pm

now now, you gotta love a good AMD-Intel war :lol:
Post Reply