DLE-XP questions and answers

Read and write DLE-XP bug reports, suggestions and general discussion here. Home Page

Moderator: Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:05 am

...true, but wouldn't it be a major pain in the ass? I don't know how deep the code for that goes, but there should be a fair amount of it...
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

my door is sideways....

Post by reetus » Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:27 am

how do make the door rotate? No matter what I try when I add the wall/door it always comes up sideways. I try set point mode, set line mode, set side mode, all 4 corners, and no matter what I do the door is sideways. I can rotate the texture but as soon as you shoot it with a flare the door opens and the texture is reset to the sideways door? I realize these are \"noob\" questions and I do always search the questions and answer section, which I practically have memorized having read through it so many times, and use the online manual but I can't seem to find these answers. Oh well for now I'll just use a round door so you can't tell. :?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:57 am

Rotate the base texture.
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

D1 object trigger

Post by reetus » Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:17 pm

does D1 support object triggers? not much on the help manual page about object triggers....how does one set up an object trigger on d1?
User avatar
Pumo
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:48 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Post by Pumo » Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:27 am

Object triggers are \"excusively\" for D2X-XL levels.
You can't use these trigger in D1 nor in D2 normal levels.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:19 am

reetus,

every DLE-XP feature going beyond standard D2 is also beyond D1 and only available for D2X-XL levels. Why are you so crazy about D1 levels? D2X-XL offers so much more. ;)
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

d1 is my favorite game

Post by reetus » Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:29 am

I like d2 and everything beyond that but for some reason I just like d1 the best, I just like the way it looks I guess but i will probably start working with d2- in the future. I do wish the 174 walls limit for d1 was fixed :shock: , ok I'll shut up now :)
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:02 am

...the way it looks.

I'm kinda having trouble figuring out the difference... unless you would rather have 320x200 or something...
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:33 am

The 174 walls limit is nothing that should or could be 'fixed'. It's not a bug - it's the limit that had been put into D1 by its developers. Live with it - or start to build D2X-XL levels.
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

Still,.........

Post by reetus » Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:50 am

I really, really appreciate all the work you've done on this program and I absolutely LOVE it.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:40 pm

I forgive you. =)

:mrgreen:

No problems with questions and bug reports, but don't get mad at me if something doesn't go the way you want it. ;)
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

d1 prison doors,

Post by reetus » Thu Apr 13, 2006 5:38 pm

I can't seem to change the primary texture surrounding them. You can't do it the same way you change the texture surrounding a door or fan etc. Is there a way to do it?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Apr 13, 2006 5:53 pm

Surrounding what?
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

can't see this part in the post..............

Post by reetus » Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:45 am

sorry I typed the first part of my question on the subject window...oops. I was talking about prison doors on d1. there is a little tiny bit of texture visible around the outside of the prison and it looks like metl60 but there is no way to change it. the \"metl60\" doesn't appear in the texture editing 1st window the only thing you see when you are on the prison door with the cube is \"door24 - anim\" just wondering if there is a way to change the tiny bit of texture around it to match other textures
User avatar
Pumo
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:48 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Post by Pumo » Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:11 am

No, you can't change the edge of the prison doors.

The prison doors are used as primary textures, not secondaries. They aren't overlaying over other textures, they are as is in the PIG file of D1 and can't be changed.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:12 pm

A rule of thumb is that if a texture is purple (or dark red) in areas where it should be transparent, these areas will be made transparent even if the texture is an overlay for another texture, and if the texture is used as an overlay, the base texture will be made transparent in the same areas. Doors are a good example for this.

If the transparent areas are black, the base texture will be shown where the overlay texture is transparent.
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

A couple of questions..

Post by reetus » Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:51 am

1. I am trying to make a door with a texture on it to match the wall it's on. I am pretty sure I've seen this before on D1 first strike. Door 17 looks like a door with no texture on it or rock001. When I add door standard and then try to put a different texture on it I get a message saying \"Changing the texture of a door only affects how a door will look before it's opened.You can use this trick to hide a door until it is used for the first time.\". How do I change the texture on the doors that look like a wall opening instead of a door?

2. Can I stop light from shining through a closed door. I have a door in a dark room with a light ceiling texture right on the other side of it but I can't get it to not shine through the door when it's closed. Is it possible to stop this from happening? I can't figure out how to get it to stop doing that. Probably a dumb question but I can't figure it out.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: A couple of questions..

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Fri Apr 28, 2006 5:22 am

reetus wrote:2. Can I stop light from shining through a closed door. I have a door in a dark room with a light ceiling texture right on the other side of it but I can't get it to not shine through the door when it's closed. Is it possible to stop this from happening? I can't figure out how to get it to stop doing that. Probably a dumb question but I can't figure it out.
I'm sure others here can give you a better ideas, but one of the ways to do this is to turn off "average corner lighting" in the "Lights" tab. Mark the boxes/ rooms you don't want to show light through and hit apply.

Should look like this.
Image

Or even with a light source on the other side it will look like this.
Image
No light going through. ;)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Apr 28, 2006 10:41 am

Actually, a door is not a single texture, but a group of textures ('frames') showing different states of the opening process of the door. So just putting a regular texture over it will only hide the door until it is first operated and all it's frames are displayed one after the other.

The only way to completely change a door's appearance is to edit each single animation frame of the door.

To do that, you can get DTX2, export all door frames to bitmaps, and change them with some image editing program. The see-through space of an opening door needs to be marked with a special, purplish color. You best copy that color from the original frame image.

There's no way to keep light going through a closed door, as the light is precomputed for the case of an open door, and D2(X(-XL)) does not recompute the light dynamically for such cases.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:41 pm

Could that realistically be done? (Recalculated light values, that is ... doors that cast shadows would be better, but we all know how those worked out...)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:48 am

I have been looking at a free game engine (Crystal Space) that recomputes light maps in real time depending on light changes. ;)

I might replace the D2X-XL renderer with that engine, if I find the time.
Junior Pilot
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:06 pm

Post by Junior Pilot » Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:44 am

How would I make a robot face the opposite way from what it was originally facing (as in, turn it around) in DLE-XP?

EDIT: Better question: How do I rotate an object (like say, a robot) around a certain axis?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:01 pm

Junior Pilot wrote:How would I make a robot face the opposite way from what it was originally facing (as in, turn it around) in DLE-XP?

EDIT: Better question: How do I rotate an object (like say, a robot) around a certain axis?
Couple of things to do is.
1) Set Object Mode
2) Click on "view" and select "Editor Tool Bar".

Image

Now right click on the object you wish to rotate.

Depending on what "face" you have selected.
You can rotate the ship however you want using the Editor Tool Bar.

Image
Hope this helps. :)
User avatar
Chaos Death Saurer
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:10 am

Post by Chaos Death Saurer » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:54 pm

Not a clue whether this is DLE or D2X, or if it's even a bug.

My camera monitor is explodey. Observe:

Image

I'm hoping someone can tell me what's wrong.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:09 am

Maybe something to do with the d2x.ini file?
What d2x.ini switches are you using?

Oh and what version of DLE-XP are you using?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:38 am

Is \"my camera monitor is constantly displaying some explosion of unknown origin\" the proper translation of your post, CDS?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:18 am

I think I know part of what his problem is now.

I've tested this by changing the switch -render2texture 1 to 0 in the d2x.ini file.

The 0 will make the monitor display as seen in the pic above.

All he need to do is change it to a 1 and it should fix it. ;)

EDIT:
-render2texture 1
Image


-render2texture 0
Image
User avatar
Chaos Death Saurer
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:10 am

Post by Chaos Death Saurer » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:08 pm

render2texture was set to 1 when I went into d2x.ini. I changed it to 0, and the monitor was worse. And d2x.ini I never usually touch, all the values are default.

DLE is 1.5.51, D2X is 1.8.32.

Only special eefect I'm using is the smoke.
User avatar
Chaos Death Saurer
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:10 am

Post by Chaos Death Saurer » Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:33 pm

Another problem: If I set one light of a certain type to be, say, purple, all lights of that type in that level will be purple.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:28 pm

Chaos Death Saurer wrote:Another problem: If I set one light of a certain type to be, say, purple, all lights of that type in that level will be purple.
X2 :)
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

Post by reetus » Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:17 pm

How do I convert an rdl to a hog?

Use yahoma and build a new hog from the rdl?

They are rdl's exported from a mission I made.
Garak
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by Garak » Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:29 pm

Quick question: is the source for the editor going to be released like the source for d2x-xl? Or is it already and I can't read well enough to find a link? :)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:28 am

DLE-XP is closed source by verdict of Bryan Aamot, the author of DMB2, on which DLE-XP is based.
Garak
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by Garak » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:36 am

ok, thanks for the info :)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:09 am

reetus wrote:How do I convert an rdl to a hog?

Use yahoma and build a new hog from the rdl?

They are rdl's exported from a mission I made.
Create a new level with DLE-XP. Save and reload that level. When reloading it, DLE-XP's hog manager is opened. Use it to delete the rdl file from the hogfile and to import your rdl file into the hog file.

Use DLE-XP's mission editor to correct mission and rdl file names that are stored in the hog file.
Bagheera
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:15 am

Post by Bagheera » Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:55 pm

Is there anywhere I can get a manual or readme about the features of dle xp. I really like some or the stuff you guys do with your levels, but have no clue how to do certain things like import d3 textures, glass walls, cameras(custom robots,weapons...the list is long) and stuff like that.


and on another note...
THANK YOU WHOEVER MADE THE LIGHTING FEATURE IN DLE XP!!! You have no idea how hard it was for me to light my levels with the original d2 level editor.
The BP Pilot.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:27 am

Bryan Aamot made it, and I fixed and enhanced it. ;)

You can find some DLE-XP specific stuff in my Descent 2 site's DLE-XP area, and some level editing basics here.

You can also ask questions about how to do something particular in the DLE-XP Q&A thread.
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:25 am

Crystal Space sucks, man. It relies on too many of its own conventions.
User avatar
Tim
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:15 pm
Contact:

Post by Tim » Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:09 pm

What do the \"strength\" and \"time\" settings in the trigger tab do?
(__/)Save Pokemon, Destroy Yu-Gi-Oh<br>(O.o )<br>(> < ) This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination!
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:28 am

Afaik nothing.
Post Reply