* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Editing cubes?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
Okay, so I open up DLE-XP for the very first time and am going to start editing my cube dimensions right? So I click on the saw and hammer button that usually brings up that 3x3 grid of cube editing buttons. But instead it just opens up a tab on the lower area of the editor all about cubes. But I do not see any easy editing cube buttons like there was originally. The only thing I could possible see you coudl edit are the point dimensions. Please tell me there is another way, editing every cube point by point would be tedious.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Editing cubes?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:20 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
DarkFlameWolf wrote:
Okay, so I open up DLE-XP for the very first time and am going to start editing my cube dimensions right? So I click on the saw and hammer button that usually brings up that 3x3 grid of cube editing buttons. But instead it just opens up a tab on the lower area of the editor all about cubes. But I do not see any easy editing cube buttons like there was originally. The only thing I could possible see you coudl edit are the point dimensions. Please tell me there is another way, editing every cube point by point would be tedious.

http://www.descentbb.net/viewtopic.php? ... c&start=60


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:33 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
not understanding what you're trying to say Red, the answer to my question isn't in that thread.... :?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:37 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oh come on. :P

If you have ever used DMB2? You would know what to do from there.

I know the link isn't all of what you wanted. It will point you in the right dirrection though.

To edit the cube. Follow part of what is in that thread. The rest should be easy if you play around a bit with it.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:43 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
Okay, have you ever played Bahagad Outbreak or Lost Levels? I made those missions using DMB2. I think I can remember how to make levels with DMB2. However what I'm saying is, the edit toolbox button doesn't bring up what is usually normal to bring up and instead just directs me to the 'cube' tab on the bar below the 3d view. I can edit points easily enough by typing in their values, but would rather be editing faces than points at the moment. Maybe I'm not being clear enough as to what my problem is?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:21 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
OMG.
I've made missions too you know?
All but one with DMB2. ;)

With DLE-XP. The saw and hammer icon is NOT what you click on to enable the editor tool.

Did you even look at the pic in the link I posted above?

In that pic you would see how to enable the editor tool. :roll:

The rest should be easy enough. ;)

Here.. enlarge this image and look at the stuff in green.
Image

If you still don't get it?
Then do this.

DLE-XP
Click on >>>> \"view\" >>>>> \"editor tool bar\"
You can edit all the faces you want this way; \"old school\". ;)

That is what you want, yes?
Thought so...... :P


BTW - The image above is to show how to move objects with the edit tool.
You can do sides, lines, points, cubes, blocks, and objects as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:03 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
well curious as to why he made that change, it was odd clicking on the saw and hammer icon and not seeing that pop up.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:10 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
There is alot of changes using DLE-XP, but you'll get used to it. ;)

When using DLE-XP. Don't think of DMB2 in terms of layout.

Not everything is the same as you can see. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:38 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
BTW

DarkFlameWolf wrote:
well curious as to why he made that change, it was odd clicking on the saw and hammer icon and not seeing that pop up.

Make a suggestion in the DLE-XP Suggestion Thread for it to work that way.

I'm sure Diedel will make it so. ;)

He's a good man, he is. :mrgreen:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:04 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
DarkFlameWolf wrote:
... what I'm saying is, the edit toolbox button doesn't bring up what is usually normal to bring up and instead just directs me to the 'cube' tab on the bar below the 3d view. I can edit points easily enough by typing in their values, but would rather be editing faces than points at the moment. Maybe I'm not being clear enough as to what my problem is?

Doesn't the cube tool contain all the stuff the edit toolbox did? If not -> bug.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:12 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
no actually it doesn't. It contains a few things more than the cube toolbox did, but it doesn't contain anything that small 3x3 button toolbox has. Regardless, there is a way to access it, so I'm happy.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:31 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
So in DMB2, that icon activated that small editing pad?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:32 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
So in DMB2, that icon activated that small editing pad?
Yep. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:52 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
so you can see my confusion when I pressed it and it brought up the lower cube toolbar and nowhere on the toolbar were those 9 buttons. LOL :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:21 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
DarkFlameWolf wrote:
so you can see my confusion when I pressed it and it brought up the lower cube toolbar and nowhere on the toolbar were those 9 buttons. LOL :D

Using DLE-XP v1.5.51.
The saw and hammer icon is set for "Prefereces" when it should be for the editor toolbar. At least that how its setup in DMB2. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
oh, nice catch RED! Didn't notice that, the button doesn't even direct you to the correct function! lol


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:03 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Yep....
Lets keep in mind that this is a discussion. ;)

Not a suggestion nore a bug report.

I'll be happy to post such ideas and problems in the proper threads if need be.

For now I'm fine with the way it is. :)


although............... I do have some ideas...... :twisted:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:55 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 172
Point edit is our friend :D

Thats what I use


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 11:27 am 
Offline
The Feline Menace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 2625
Website: http://vertigofox.bandcamp.com
Location: the realms of theory
If you have a numpad, you can turn numlock on, and the numpad buttons will do the same thing as the edit box. It's even arranged so that the numbers are in the same positions as the buttons they imitate. I'm not sure if this was originally in DMB2, or if it's new in dle-xp, but it's what I always use, unless I'm using my laptop, which doesn't have a numpad. It saves a lot of clicking.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 3:53 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
You necroed this thread by about 2 years, but yes, it was in DMB2. And I've used it pretty much ever since I started making levels... :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 4:19 pm 
Offline
The Feline Menace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 2625
Website: http://vertigofox.bandcamp.com
Location: the realms of theory
Oops! :P
(But I must have some wierd powers to bring dead topics back to life... after all, dead is dead, not to mention dead.)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group