* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:38 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Is there any workaround to this?

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:59 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Fire up a virtual machine with a 32 bit OS inside it (just about anyone has a copy of windows xp they can load inside a vm, doesn't need to talk to the internet to work).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:20 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Krom wrote:
Fire up a virtual machine with a 32 bit OS inside it (just about anyone has a copy of windows xp they can load inside a vm, doesn't need to talk to the internet to work).


Yeah, I did realize there are virtual machines but damn, that sounds like a pain and a lot of work! I don't really urgently need the tool right now, I just wanted to browse some properties and stats of the robots.

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:22 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
You can probably get the DOS version working in DOSBOX for a lot less effort.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:24 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Yeah, there's a DOS version of HAXMEDIT that should do the job. It's not as pretty, but it's just as complete as far as I recall.

RbotEdit will tell you most properties of robots in a more user-friendly manner, and does work in 64-bit Windows. Last I checked, anyway. :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:26 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
K, thanks! I did remember the DOS version of the app, I believe it's called HXMEDIT. Might want to revisit that one, haha

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:46 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 6377
Location: ☃☃☃
HAXMED32 is 16-bit?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:04 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Ok, I actually created a Windows XP virtual machine, if only to fix the switches in Pumo's PIG. An easy fix, however annoying the issue may have been.

So now, I've found that I no longer have haxmed32 in any shape or form. I seem to have stupidly deleted it in my anger of it not working. Does anyone have it and could help me? There are some things I'd like to try out and I need haxmed32 for it.

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:14 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Should be somewhere in this archive (sorry for the big download):
http://krom.sploitz.com/DBB/germany1.do ... ork.com.7z

Let me know when you have it, so I can delete it off the server, thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:57 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Krom wrote:
Should be somewhere in this archive (sorry for the big download):
http://krom.sploitz.com/DBB/germany1.do ... ork.com.7z

Let me know when you have it, so I can delete it off the server, thanks.


Got it. You weren't kidding about the size ;__;

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 5:11 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Ok, safe to delete?

On the plus side, that archive is loaded with all sorts of ancient descent related goodies that aren't in regular circulation anymore.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 5:13 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Yeah, safe to delete. Thanks.

No haxmed32 though, only the DOS version, which isn't good enough for what I want to do. You can't for example mess around with door sounds and similar stuff in the dos version.

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:21 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Install the robot construction kit, haxmed32 is part of that.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:29 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Krom wrote:
Install the robot construction kit, haxmed32 is part of that.


Ok, great! Thanks.

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Can't run DTX or HAXMED32 on a 64bit system
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:59 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Haxmed32 says it wants Stif3 and that is't not properly installed. Which kit contains it?

EDIT: Scratch it, that was only on the virtual machine. Under Win 8.1 it gives Error #75 instead, but that is solved by running the app in admin mode.

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group