Addicted to RSS

Pyro Pilots Lounge. For all topics *not* covered in other DBB forums.

Moderators: fliptw, roid

Topher
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Addicted to RSS

Post by Topher »

So I've become addicted to RSS. There's literally 30+ blogs I read plus 10 or so news sources related to technology, space and gaming plus a bunch of other stuff. And I'm just beginning to venture out onto the Internet.

There's this great feature in IE7 and Firefox that finds RSS feeds on webpages. It's awesome, I never would have found some of the links hidden way in the bottom of the page or on some random image. Also, Live.com has a nice feed finder here.

Of course, tabbed browsing news sources like Slashdot and Wikipedia have greatly increased my information intake thanks to middle click opening links in new tabs and closing unneeded tabs (my favorite IE7/FF feature). Combined with RSS telling when stuff has been updated, I never spend time venturing out to webpages to see if there's any new content. I'm not any better at finding information, but technology has significantly narrowed the time gaps between finding it.

What feeds or blogs do other people subscribe to?

I've started a blog on transitioning from college to industry as a software engineer on MSDN if people are interested. CoolBeans. Anyone else write a \"interesting\" blog (aka about a topic, not about yourself)? Must have an RSS feed for me to be interested.
Testiculese
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender

Post by Testiculese »

I have no RSS feeds. I haven't paid enough attention to them to find out what they really are. They're just blogs, eh? Tech and space feeds I might be interersted in...where do you view the feeds once you (I guess) subscribe to it? Right in Firefox?
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?

Post by Krom »