Make Your D2x Look It's Best:

D2X-XL - Descent II update for modern systems with many new features and enhanced graphics. Home Page

Moderators: Grendel, Aus-RED-5

Post Reply
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Make Your D2x Look It's Best:

Post by Jeff250 » Mon May 09, 2005 6:53 pm

Take advantage of your display drivers' application/game profiles feature and make a profile for D2x. Crank anisotropic filtering and antialiasing to the max.

Take these pixel-perfect screenshots for example:
Before (0x aniso and 0x FSAA):
http://home.comcast.net/~jeff250/descent/before.png
After (8x aniso and 8x FSAA):
http://home.comcast.net/~jeff250/descent/after.png

If you compare the two pictures, you'll notice that the \"after\" picture looks much less blurry viewing the textures in the distance (at a sharp angle), especially the ceiling in this example. This is the anisotropic filtering doing its job. Also, you'll notice that the edges between walls, floors, ceilings, and the such are much less jagged or pixelated and appear more smooth. This is the antialiasing taking its effect.

Since D2x is vastly CPU dependent, depending on your card, you can probably crank your aniso and FSAA to its max, or at least farther than you can for other games. I have a Geforce FX 5950 that would normally sh*t its pants with 8x FSAA, but there's no performance difference with D2x.

I've posted this in response to some of the screenshots I've seen posted here, so I'll expect better in the future. Make D2 look it's best. :wink:
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Tue May 10, 2005 2:11 am

Cool, Jeff, I didn't know that. :)
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Tue May 10, 2005 2:13 am

Hey Jeff. Can you post a copy of ur profile for the FX5950. I have one as well. :wink: I'ld like to try it out.
Thanks!
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Post by Jeff250 » Tue May 10, 2005 11:34 am

In the profile, I've basically got everything maxed for my card and any sort of optimization with even negligible quality loss disabled:
Antialiasing: 8xS
Anisotropic: 8x
Image settings: High quality
Vertical sync: On
Trilinear optimization: Off
Anisotropic mip filter optimization: Off
Anisotropic sample optimization: Off
You'll have to check "Show advanced settings" to see some of these options. The rest of the options really aren't pertinent.
User avatar
Grendel
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Corvallis OR, USA

Post by Grendel » Tue May 10, 2005 11:49 am

How about setting the resolution a tad higher ? Like 1280x1024 ;) Also, w/ games that have constantly moving images you don't really need more than 2xAA (if at all) -- esp. at higher resolutions. Go 16xAF instead :P
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Post by Jeff250 » Tue May 10, 2005 12:05 pm

Personally, I've always preferred 640x480 because it seems to recapture the original feel--the others just don't "feel" right to me. And, plus, since things like movies are hardcoded at 640x480, I don't have to listen to my monitor trying to switch screen resolutions all the time. :)

I've always been a stickler for jaggies and cannot stand them. They're even more apparent to me in simple games like D2 with uncomplicated and straight edges. If you go with a higher resolution, you'll definitely have to go with 2x FSAA though. ;)
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Tue May 10, 2005 11:55 pm

I don't even want to try this with my video card. At least I get a decent framerate without it...

Oh wait.

That explains a lot. It probably has marginal FSAA by default - I remember in D2x the edges ARE somewhat anti-aliased. Somewhat.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed May 11, 2005 7:32 am

With a GF FX 5200, you can forget about every higher AA/AF settings than the defaults/application set ones.

Jeff,

D2X-W32 scales the movies up to the current screen res - no more screen mode switching. ;)

But - you have the bar HUD and cockpit only in 640x480 (or below), and the cockpit view definitely has something to it. :)

Edit: D2X-W32 now supports all HUDs in all supported screen resolutions. :)

Grendel,

the quality gain/performance loss ratio by using AA/AF is waaaaaaaay better than by increasing the resolution.
User avatar
Grendel
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Corvallis OR, USA

Post by Grendel » Wed May 11, 2005 2:44 pm

At 640x480 anything will help ;) Mood point in my case tho -- as soon I activate a profile and d2x-w32 switches into hi-res (just after selecting the pilot) it crashes: draws the main menue background, about 3s no music, does not draw the menu itself and hangs there w/ the music playing.. After I delete the profile it works again.
User avatar
Nosferatu
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 5:15 pm

Post by Nosferatu » Tue May 24, 2005 10:19 pm

Hey is there any way to check to see if the settings are getting used?

Nvidias application profile manager is flakey to say the least.

Although Im still using 66.93

Perhaps I should upgrade that.

Since I have an older GF4 Ti4200 havent really seen the need.
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Post by Jeff250 » Wed May 25, 2005 1:38 am

If you find it difficult to tell the difference visually to see if it's working, sometimes the best way of knowing is a frame rate dive. Try playing at 1600x1200 with no FSAA and then with 8x FSAA. :o
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Wed May 25, 2005 3:05 pm

I run Descent at 800x600 and:
AA: 8xS
AF: 16x
Image: Quality
V-sync: off
Trilinear: off
Aniso mip flter: on

I get a perfect image. No Jags, none! and still get perfect frames. Wow.
User avatar
Nosferatu
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 5:15 pm

Post by Nosferatu » Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:54 pm

OK I have come to the conclusion that nvidias application profile system just does not work.

I have nvidia 71.89 installed.

Created a new profile from scratch. Browsed for d2x-w32.exe and added it. Made sure global settings was unchecked. For testing purposes I only turned vsync on. I set the framerate slider in the game to 100. I know my monitor runs at 75. I start up the game and activate frametime. And it reads 100.

So nvidia application profiles do not work.

And there is no way Im going to setup the parameters in the global area. I shouldnt have too.

Anyone have a suggestion on how to fix this?
User avatar
fliptw
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6415
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

Post by fliptw » Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:06 pm

nvidia applications profiles do work.

you need to place checkmarks besides all the settings you want applied to the application, then hit apply
User avatar
Nosferatu
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 5:15 pm

Post by Nosferatu » Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:33 pm

Did that.

Im not completely stupid.

At least I dont think so. :P
User avatar
fliptw
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6415
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

Post by fliptw » Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:40 pm

try messing around with AA and ansio.

d2x may not properly respect the vsync setting.
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Post by Isaac » Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:04 am

Oh.. Vsync is a MUST.
It made a huge change on my compuer.
Dedman
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4510
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Atlanta

Post by Dedman » Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:56 am

I never could get into D2. I always found the graphics clunky. Maybe this is why. I may just have to reload.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:13 pm

Well, they still kind of are, but using OpenGL and AA/AF they look about as nice as you could really expect for such a simple graphical engine.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:43 am

Dedman,

have you ever seen what you can do with D2X-W32 + DLE-XP? If not, take a look at my Descent site's multiplayer level section (see the side menu).

D3 textures, colored lights, transparency, in-level teleports:

Image

D3 textures, colored lights, transpareny, wind tunnels:

Image

Unreal textures:

Image

D2 textures, (not yet fully done) sky dome with D3 cloud texture:

Image
Dedman
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4510
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Atlanta

Post by Dedman » Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:44 pm

I may just do that.
User avatar
Gold Leader
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Guatamala, Tatooine, Yavin IV
Contact:

Re:

Post by Gold Leader » Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:53 pm

Jeff250 wrote:In the profile, I've basically got everything maxed for my card and any sort of optimization with even negligible quality loss disabled:
Antialiasing: 8xS
Anisotropic: 8x
Image settings: High quality
Vertical sync: On
Trilinear optimization: Off
Anisotropic mip filter optimization: Off
Anisotropic sample optimization: Off
You'll have to check "Show advanced settings" to see some of these options. The rest of the options really aren't pertinent.
hello Jeff :)
nice settings for your NV38 aka GeForceFX 5950 AGP. :)

FSAA x8S is only supported in Direct3D and not OpenGL apps ;)
With my XFX GeForce 6800GT AGP Dual DVI aka MV40GT I can choose the following:

FSAA OFF
FSAA x2
Quincunx
FSAA x4
FSAA x8S

And I can remmeber when useing FSAA x8S in OpenGL apps the card will only work in FSAA x4 mode

Here is how I found that out:
Image

If you left click on the FSAA x8S setting you get that list of FSAA modes and thier discriptions on how they work.

So when running a OpenGL app with the FSAA x8S setting the app will function @ FSAA x4 because the FSAA x8S setting is only usefull for Direct3D apps ;)

I use ForceWare 82.12 Beta.
ForceWare 82.12 Beta Win2K/XP English

ForceWare 82.12 Beta Win2K/XP International

here are the other drivers for WinXP64 use.

ForceWare 82.12 Beta WinXP64 English

ForceWare 82.12 Beta WinXP64 International
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15182
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:36 pm

8xS mode does work in OpenGL, you read it wrong.

\"This mode offers higher image quality then 6xS mode for Direct3D applications and 4x mode for OpenGL applications.\"

It is 6xS mode that does not work in OpenGL.
User avatar
Gold Leader
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Guatamala, Tatooine, Yavin IV
Contact:

Post by Gold Leader » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:30 am

ah okay :)

Well here's my nice screenies which I made with my XFX GeForce 6800GT AGP Dual DVI @ 1024 x 768 x32 FSAA x4 AF x16 :)
Image

Man Descent2 : Counter Strike looks like new and totally revamped also! 8)

And here a screeny of the same settings but then with Descent First Strke aka Descent 1 :)
Image

really Descent 1 has an advantage no Thief Bots ;D

Only what is noticable is that the Descent2 PyroGX cockpit was also used for the D2X-XL for Descent1 ;D LoL
Atixtasy
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by Atixtasy » Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:41 pm

Hmm call me slow here but I really didn't know that D2X-XL was totally CPU dependent. I thought the graphics card had SOMETHING to do with it.

Either way I have 2 7900GTX's in SLI my anitaliasing is crankd to about...

8x AA
16xAF
v-sync: on
image settings: high quality
mipmaps: trilinear
transparency AA: supersampling
gamma correction AA: on
threaded optimization: on (gotta have that with
SLI :P )
openGL error reporting: on
screen rez at 1680x1050
all D2X settings maxed completely and i still run smooth but load times are like the app locked up lol.
User avatar
Peterix
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by Peterix » Tue Feb 27, 2007 5:29 pm

This has everything to do with the fact that the hires textures are in an uncompressed format (TGA)...

Try throwing away the animated missile sprites and use the 3d models instead where possible. That should shorten loading times a bit.
Atixtasy
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by Atixtasy » Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:43 pm

yea well it's not so that I can't live with it, I put the D2X-Xl data on my RAID striped array and so far it's cut load time by like 10x....or so it seems :lol:
Post Reply