Descent into Doom 3 mod: Starting up

Meet the people you love to kill (and be killed by) in Descent!

Moderator: Do_Checkor

HeXetic
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Descent into Doom 3 mod: Starting up

Post by HeXetic »

After receiving a pretty overwhelmingly positive response on the Doom 3 World boards, I've seriously considering getting a TC Descent-into-Doom 3 mod going. I'm a professional C++ programmer myself and I don't think the Doom 3 code will give me too much trouble to get the basic movement in (joystick support might be harder). Quaker-X, a fairly well-known Quake mapper, has also signed up to help with the maps.

What I'd like is to get the feel for whether anyone would be interested in helping out, even if it's just providing ideas for gameplay (I think we'd like to get MP going first) or just concept art, although if you want to help with any other aspect of mod-making, please let me know at hexetic@hotmail.com (or via MSN at the same address).

The Doom3world thread is at the following location:

http://www.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=10393

I'm thinking the goal of the mod would be to create an intensely dark MP experience, resembling more the "Aliens Vs Predator" games or the Quake II mod "Night Hunters" (if any of you played that). The beautiful, heavy shadows of the Doom 3 engine should make for very interesting hide-and-seek gameplay when combined with Descent-style flares and headlights.

I notied that a few people have given thought to UT2K4 and HL2 mods, but I guess those never got off the ground. Let me tell you that I fully intend to pull this off, starting with the physics of 3D Descent-style movement.

I've also enlisted some conceptual artists; this is a work-in-progress image by my friend, KingOfNod:

http://www.n00bstories.com/image.fetch. ... 1323419694