Deciding on a DVR

Pyro Pilots Lounge. For all topics *not* covered in other DBB forums.

Moderators: fliptw, roid

Topher
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Deciding on a DVR

Post by Topher »

I'm pretty new to the TiVo/DVR scene but I'm planning to get some kind of setup when I can afford it after I move.

I would like to be able to do a couple of things from my TV:

Record/play back TV and HDTV
Still have some kind of digital TV guide
Play movies/audio/streams that reside on my Windows PC

The packages I've looked into:

MythTV - Looks nice, would require me installing a linux system
Windows Media Center 2005 - Does just about everything but record HDTV
Brock's apartment's modded x-box - not sure if this does HDTV/DVR
Stay with whatever DVR I can get with the provider

So I'm kind of at a loss of what's really going to work here. Without the ability to watch HDTV, Windows Media Center seems kind of useless. But a PC version would be nice because it would be much cheaper to install a second recording card to record two shows at once or upgrade the harddrive.

What have other people's experiences been?
dissent
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral

Post by dissent »

Sorry. Can't help. I'm still trying to figure out how to set the clock on my VCR. :P
Top Wop
DBB Master
DBB Master

Post by Top Wop »

MythTV sounds more like a sensible choice. At least with a PC acting like a TV you can always modify or upgrade it and install new components, this&that ect.
Buef
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by Buef »

I will never give up my ReplayTV.

I have a PVR (computer) but it is too prone to disturbance by my 3 year old.

The best (but 'outlawed' a couple years ago) was the Replay 5000 series. They have automatic-commercial skip (no button at all to push) and LAN/Internet connectivity. (Internet is no longer allowed).