Buy it or Build it?

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

Nexus_One
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Buy it or Build it?

Post by Nexus_One »

I'm going to be purchasing a new gaming rig in the next month or so, and I'm trying to decide if I should buy one from a small vendor like Alienware or Polywell, or if I should attempt to build one.

Please keep in mind that I have never built a PC from the ground up before, but I can learn very quickly and have several walk-throughs from pc magazines.

What is the better way to go? Cost isn't too much of an issue, and I'm going to build a very fast PC.

Athlon 4800+
Dual GeForce 7800 GTX
2GB RAM
3 Hard drives, 2 in RAID 0 and one back up
DVD RW and CDRW/DVD-ROM
Creative X-Fi Sound
550 watt PS (minimum)
Vertigo Zer0
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by Vertigo Zer0 »

I just bought a new PC from Falcon Northwest and I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase.

My setup is very similar to what you're planning:

Mach V Exotix LaserWorks:

ICON Aluminum Chassis
Silverstone 650Watt Power Supply
Windows XP Professional
Asus A8N-SLI Premium Motherboard
AMD Athlon64 FX-57
Zalman ZNPS7000LED ALCU - CPU Cooler
Corsair TwinX 2048MB 3200XL-PT (4/512MB)
2x nVidia GeForce 7800 GTX 256MB PCIE - SLI
2x Maxtor DM-10 300GB SATA 16MB Cache (RAID 0)
2x Plextor PX-716SA DVD±R/RW CD-R/RW - Black
Sony 1.44MB Floppy Drive - Black
Ergodex DX-1 Falcon Edition

Black with Silver Falcons Paint Scheme:
Porsche Black Automotive Paint
Silver Falcon Logos
LaserWorks Two-Color Lit Falcon Eye

I couldn't get the Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS because it wasn't available yet, so I'm picking that up and installing it myself when it is available. I'm going to call Falcon tech support and have them walk me through how they would install it and route whatever cables I need to route so it looks like they installed it.