But I'm An Artist!

For discussion of life's issues: current events, social trends and personal opinions.

Moderators: Tunnelcat, Jeff250

bash
DBB Master
DBB Master

But I'm An Artist!

Post by bash »

Israel's Sweden Envoy Attacks Suicide Bomber Art (yes, amazing that I'm linking to Reuters, isn't it?).

Anyway, I say good for the ambassador. It's about time artists realized there isn't some God-given right to produce trash and not expect it to affect some folks in ways unintended. In glorifying the killer, you negate the value of the victims. As if it were in some way an admirable thing to perform a cowardly attack on innocents simply because it demonstrates *commitment*. Most murderers demonstrate a degree of commitment or they wouldn't be murderers in the first place. And why should it matter that the bomber was a mother and a lawyer? As if that is ironclad certification that one was a benevolent and intelligent person before being driven to extremes. Of course, the artist got all this from one photograph in a newspaper and thought the killer looked like a Disney character. Talk about projecting romantic notions where none should exist.

It's easy to sit in one's comfy ex-pat home in the land of the Swedish Swimsuit Team and think yourself avant garde while the folks you left behind have to face everyday the very real possibility of having someone blow up in front of them.
Top Wop
DBB Master
DBB Master

Post by Top Wop »

If its garbage, its not art. That as well as other "art" pieces that blatantly attack Christianity and such are garbage. I dont blame the ambasador for doing what he did. Good show.
index_html
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Post by index_html »

Speaking of commitment, I thought this was a pretty spot-on:

http://www.coxandforkum.com/archives/000258.html
Will Robinson
DBB Grand Master
DBB Grand Master

Post by Will Robinson »

Maybe I just love to play devils advocate but...
I don't think an artist should be penalized for having bad taste.