DLE-XP questions and answers

Read and write DLE-XP bug reports, suggestions and general discussion here. Home Page

Moderator: Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:48 am

I have been looking at a free game engine (Crystal Space) that recomputes light maps in real time depending on light changes. ;)

I might replace the D2X-XL renderer with that engine, if I find the time.
Junior Pilot
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 1:06 pm

Post by Junior Pilot » Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:44 am

How would I make a robot face the opposite way from what it was originally facing (as in, turn it around) in DLE-XP?

EDIT: Better question: How do I rotate an object (like say, a robot) around a certain axis?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:01 pm

Junior Pilot wrote:How would I make a robot face the opposite way from what it was originally facing (as in, turn it around) in DLE-XP?

EDIT: Better question: How do I rotate an object (like say, a robot) around a certain axis?
Couple of things to do is.
1) Set Object Mode
2) Click on "view" and select "Editor Tool Bar".

Image

Now right click on the object you wish to rotate.

Depending on what "face" you have selected.
You can rotate the ship however you want using the Editor Tool Bar.

Image
Hope this helps. :)
User avatar
Chaos Death Saurer
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:10 am

Post by Chaos Death Saurer » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:54 pm

Not a clue whether this is DLE or D2X, or if it's even a bug.

My camera monitor is explodey. Observe:

Image

I'm hoping someone can tell me what's wrong.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:09 am

Maybe something to do with the d2x.ini file?
What d2x.ini switches are you using?

Oh and what version of DLE-XP are you using?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:38 am

Is \"my camera monitor is constantly displaying some explosion of unknown origin\" the proper translation of your post, CDS?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:18 am

I think I know part of what his problem is now.

I've tested this by changing the switch -render2texture 1 to 0 in the d2x.ini file.

The 0 will make the monitor display as seen in the pic above.

All he need to do is change it to a 1 and it should fix it. ;)

EDIT:
-render2texture 1
Image


-render2texture 0
Image
User avatar
Chaos Death Saurer
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:10 am

Post by Chaos Death Saurer » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:08 pm

render2texture was set to 1 when I went into d2x.ini. I changed it to 0, and the monitor was worse. And d2x.ini I never usually touch, all the values are default.

DLE is 1.5.51, D2X is 1.8.32.

Only special eefect I'm using is the smoke.
User avatar
Chaos Death Saurer
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:10 am

Post by Chaos Death Saurer » Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:33 pm

Another problem: If I set one light of a certain type to be, say, purple, all lights of that type in that level will be purple.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:28 pm

Chaos Death Saurer wrote:Another problem: If I set one light of a certain type to be, say, purple, all lights of that type in that level will be purple.
X2 :)
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

Post by reetus » Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:17 pm

How do I convert an rdl to a hog?

Use yahoma and build a new hog from the rdl?

They are rdl's exported from a mission I made.
Garak
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by Garak » Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:29 pm

Quick question: is the source for the editor going to be released like the source for d2x-xl? Or is it already and I can't read well enough to find a link? :)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:28 am

DLE-XP is closed source by verdict of Bryan Aamot, the author of DMB2, on which DLE-XP is based.
Garak
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by Garak » Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:36 am

ok, thanks for the info :)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:09 am

reetus wrote:How do I convert an rdl to a hog?

Use yahoma and build a new hog from the rdl?

They are rdl's exported from a mission I made.
Create a new level with DLE-XP. Save and reload that level. When reloading it, DLE-XP's hog manager is opened. Use it to delete the rdl file from the hogfile and to import your rdl file into the hog file.

Use DLE-XP's mission editor to correct mission and rdl file names that are stored in the hog file.
Bagheera
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:15 am

Post by Bagheera » Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:55 pm

Is there anywhere I can get a manual or readme about the features of dle xp. I really like some or the stuff you guys do with your levels, but have no clue how to do certain things like import d3 textures, glass walls, cameras(custom robots,weapons...the list is long) and stuff like that.


and on another note...
THANK YOU WHOEVER MADE THE LIGHTING FEATURE IN DLE XP!!! You have no idea how hard it was for me to light my levels with the original d2 level editor.
The BP Pilot.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:27 am

Bryan Aamot made it, and I fixed and enhanced it. ;)

You can find some DLE-XP specific stuff in my Descent 2 site's DLE-XP area, and some level editing basics here.

You can also ask questions about how to do something particular in the DLE-XP Q&A thread.
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:25 am

Crystal Space sucks, man. It relies on too many of its own conventions.
User avatar
Tim
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:15 pm
Contact:

Post by Tim » Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:09 pm

What do the \"strength\" and \"time\" settings in the trigger tab do?
(__/)Save Pokemon, Destroy Yu-Gi-Oh<br>(O.o )<br>(> < ) This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination!
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:28 am

Afaik nothing.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:48 am

Probably unimplemented settings from D1.
User avatar
Lobber
Emotastic!!
Emotastic!!
Posts: 1325
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 1998 3:01 am

Post by Lobber » Wed Jun 17, 2009 5:52 pm

Can you explain the Advanced Object Data editor?
----------------------------------------------------
Warning: For expert users only - use at your own risk!

mass: 262144
drag: 2162
brakes: 0
turn roll: 0
flags: 75
size: 310325
shield: 6553600

XYZ

velocity:
thrust:
rotation velocity:
rotation thrust:
model/clip: 43
frame: --
frame no.: --
----------------------------------------------------

These items were for the player ship.

How does 6553600 translate into 100 shields?
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:03 pm

It's because there is some funny conversion (or more accurately lack thereof in this case) going on. Descent supports fractional shield values, but it internally stores them as whole numbers; to make this work, the number you generally see in the editor or in game simply takes that internal value and divides it by 65536. (This of course means that shields are counted in graduations of 1/65536.)

What you're seeing there is the raw, unconverted, number. 100 * 65536 = 6553600. I think the other numbers there - mass, drag, size etc - follow the same principle.

(In case you're interested, the reason it's 65536 is because that gives 16 bits for the \"whole\" part and 16 bits for the \"decimal\" part.)
Shadow27
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Charon Volatile Mine
Contact:

Post by Shadow27 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:49 pm

Okay, so I'm currently making a level... And I would want a detailed explanation for each behavior in the \"Robot AI\" field, so there won't be any mistakes in robot placement and the mine itself, please.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:13 pm

The DMB2 manual explained what each behaviour setting did, but I don't have it on hand unfortunately, and I didn't have much like tracking down a scan/copy/etc on Google.
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:05 pm

Here it IS

site is hard to read, some really funk fonts they used.
Shadow27
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Charon Volatile Mine
Contact:

Post by Shadow27 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:50 pm

Thank you very much, Duper.

EDIT: It doesn't say anything about Robot AI...
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:24 pm

What Exactly are you looking for? Alertations to bot AI via a map builder (be it DMB2 or DLE-XP) is rudimentary at best. You can alter bot AI, but it requires a bit of work using 3rd party programs. Check the D2 section on http://www.planetdescent.com for tools.

Within the mission builders, you are given a list of basic commands iirc.
Shadow27
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Charon Volatile Mine
Contact:

Post by Shadow27 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:14 pm

Oh no, I wasn't meaning to alter the AI, I was just asking what are the differences between Still, Normal, Get Behind, etcetera. I couldn't find the info anywhere, so I just posted here.
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:39 am

if you list them, I'll try to give you a rundown as best as my old memeory can do.

Each bot has it's own AI behavior. These commands override that (of course).

Normal, is of course, the bot's regular AI.

Still, makes the bot stay in one spot. If you shoot at it, it will do its best to stay in that one spot while returning fire.

Get behind, I THINK causes the bot to take a defensive posture before returning aggressions if at all. They will actively dodge to the side or behind a wall if available. .. Like I said, I think.

The best way to get a feel for what each AI does, is to make a quick and dirty test level (couple of big rooms and obstacles) and throw bots with various AI in. .. make not of each bot, where they are and what AI is assigned to each of them.

It's not quick like getting an answer here, but it WILL give you a clear idea of how the bots will react and if that's what you really want or not. ;)
Shadow27
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Charon Volatile Mine
Contact:

Post by Shadow27 » Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:18 pm

Okay, then, thanks.
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1494
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Post by Xfing » Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:04 pm

A question from me. How do I make monitor textures shatter when I shoot or flare them? Is there some prerequisite in the settings? I have two monitors on two oposite sides of a cube, and one will always shatter when I shoot it, the other never will. What's the big deal?
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
Post Reply