* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
View active topics
View unanswered posts

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Fix for Linux Loki Checksum bug
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:24 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Hi there,

I've written a fix for all those linux users out there who try to use the Loki Descent version.
As you know, most missions will show a \"checksum error\" when trying to enter a server which runs the windows version.

Currenty, about 750 levels are supported, if I missed some, please let me know.

For Mac users, which have to face the same problem with checksums: source code (perl) is in the file. Maybe it runs on Mac in an perl environment also (not tested, just speculation).

Download Checksum update:
http://munk.vex-server.de/d3fix/checksums
(save as /usr/local/share/d3fix/checksums)

Download full:
http://munk.vex-server.de/d3fix/d3fix_1.6-1_i386.deb
http://munk.vex-server.de/d3fix/d3fix-1.6-2.i386.rpm
http://munk.vex-server.de/d3fix/d3fix-1.6.tgz

Installation:
- Download the appropriate package for your distribution (Debian&Ubuntu: .deb, Suse&RedHat: .rpm, others: .tgz)
Then run as root:
\"dpkg -i d3fix_1.6-1_i386.deb\"
or
\"rpm --nodeps -i d3fix-1.6-2.i386.rpm\"
or
\"tar -C / -xvvzf d3fix-1.6.tgz\"
(depending on which package you downloaded)
- Load the following kernel modules: ip_queue and iptable_mangle with (of course as root):
\"modprobe ip_queue && modprobe iptable_mangle\"
If these modules load without any error message, add them to /etc/modules (also as root):
\"echo ip_queue >> /etc/modules\"
and
\"echo iptable_mangle >> /etc/modules\"

Usage:
Before starting your Loki Game, make sure you have started it (as root) with \"d3fixd &\".
It will run in background then, and will replace the checksums that come from the gameserver.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:57 am 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13451
Cool dude

_________________
"One spelling mistake can destroy your life. A Husband sent this to his wife : "I'm having a wonderful time. Wish you were her." - @RobinWilliams


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:02 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
wow! You are my hero! Thanks. Can't wait to try it when I get home. Descent3 here I come!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:14 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 745
Location: Denver, CO USA
Xamindar wrote:
wow! You are my hero! Thanks. Can't wait to try it when I get home. Descent3 here I come!


You da man :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:46 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 5944
Just to let you know, Munk, I did get your e-mail about this a few days ago; I'll get it in the news in the next few days. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:00 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
dang, I guess it was too good to be true. I installed the program, loaded the kernel modules mentioned, ran it as root, confirmed it was in memory, started D3.

Tried to join Subway dancer: BOOM, error
Earthshaker 2001: BOOM, error
:? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:56 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Oh I see this descent protocol works different on american servers. It works on european servers. Sorry, I didn't test that on american servers (who could think of something like that?).
I'll put up a patch this evening.

Sorry for your disappointment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:20 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Ok, new packets are up.

Downloadlinks have been updated (see above). Enjoy (hopefully this time :)

Note to mind: no assumptions allowed, test _everything_ ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:05 am 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 14317
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
I had MD link to this thread from the Multiplayer forum 'find games and patch' sticky thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:14 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
Munk wrote:
Oh I see this descent protocol works different on american servers. It works on european servers. Sorry, I didn't test that on american servers (who could think of something like that?).
I'll put up a patch this evening.

Sorry for your disappointment.


Very strange, what is the difference?

Thanks again! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:21 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Difference was 1 Byte in the packet signature. I thought it would be constant (I tried only on EU servers), but on US-Servers this Byte is different. Remember there is an US- and an EU Version of Descent3 ?

Did this fix help you ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:15 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
Nope, still no go with the new one. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 5944
At least regarding the Windows version, a lot of people in the US (myself included) actually purchased the Australian version of the game. I don't know whether or not this applies to Linux, but if it did, could that cause the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fix for Linux Loki Checksum bug
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 8:44 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
There's a new version 1.3 out, which *might* solve Xamindar's problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:39 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
Ack, still doesn't work for me. Are there any other Linux D3 players out there who can help out? Where is funky stick man?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:52 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
I sent you a PM, where you should test a debug version.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:59 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Ok, I did a mistake in recording the checksums.
Currently, only Pyro-GL and Phoenix player ships are supported.
Have to add checksums for Magnum-AHT and Black Pyro for all levels. This will take a few days, then there will be an update (once more).


But as a bonus: Current Version 1.3 already includes a patch for that High Ping bug, which some Loki-Users experience (ping will raise up to 500ms or more after a few seconds of play).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 7:43 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
Aww I see, all works now that I'm using the GL. One thing that just happened to me in subway dancer was once the level ended and restarted I again got the \"Levels don't match\" error.

Thanks again for this wonderful tool. :)

EDIT: Also, could you post a little info on how we can add levels that are not in your program for future info?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 8:18 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
I'm flattered somebody actually *asked* for my input :)

I have my main machine apart for cleaning at the moment (horrible allergy season), and I'm surfing on my fileserver, but as soon as I get it back together, will thrash this intently tonight. My goodness, this could be awesome! it *IS* awesome!

Holy freakin' goodness. This could be better than sex.

Naah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 8:30 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
You know, I seriously got to thinking about this problem recently, and as I understand it, the bug is actually in the Windows 1.4 version, and was also fixed in the Windows 1.5 version. How hard would it be to get Loki's 1.4b to report itself as 1.5 to Windows servers? What kind of repercussions would be involved? Assuming you could get them to connect, would it even work?

Not to detract from what you've done here at all (please, please, don't think I'm not thrilled) but isn't this basically \"breaking\" the Linux client to match the bug in the Windows client? Wouldn't it be easier (if it worked) to just change the version number reported from the Linux client?

I'm not a (good) programmer, so I don't know what kind of information the clients pass through to each other, nor how much of that information is actually version-specific. If the data packets are pretty much the same, I wonder why this couldn't be done. Maybe you could just disable the version-checking code and see what happens?

Feel free to ridicule my analysis of the problem. I'll be busy playing Varicose Veins.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:26 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
With Level restarts, I will see what I can do about that.
Yes, there will be a tool which can add checksums from running servers. It's the one I use to update the checksum database which everyone can download to add more missions.

My understanding of Descent3 Online packets is very poor. But I don't think it's possible to have a current Loki version acts like an 1.5er Windows version. If they did improve some issue in netcode, this is almost impossible to \"emulate\". Playing with Loki then would be more unstable that it was before with just 1.4.

As I does not play with Loki regulary, please tell me every situation where this fix rises problems. Don't wait for me to find out myself, this would possibly never happen :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:21 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
Munk wrote:
My understanding of Descent3 Online packets is very poor. But I don't think it's possible to have a current Loki version acts like an 1.5er Windows version. If they did improve some issue in netcode, this is almost impossible to "emulate". Playing with Loki then would be more unstable that it was before with just 1.4.


Okay, fair enough, I was just wondering :) I'll have the machine up by this afternoon to test this out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:08 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
Okay, here's what I got when I ran d3fixd as root:


Can't load '/tmp/par-stickman/cache-bcf141fd5bdcd1c5aa6c1e6dce3f2656a660ef38/4da5e80b.so' for module Net::RawIP: libpcap.so.0.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory at /usr/lib/perl/5.8/DynaLoader.pm line 225.
at /usr/share/perl5/PAR/Heavy.pm line 107
Compilation failed in require at script/d3fixd.pl line 21.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at script/d3fixd.pl line 21.


Thoughts? My system should be (very) up-to-date. I'll try updating perl anyway, see what happens. I'm running SuSE 10.0 OSS, and I update everything with Yum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:29 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
This is version 1.4, which is currently in development.
Use 1.3 as described above.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:32 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
Stupid me, that's what I get for trying to be bleeding edge :)

(edit) I just tried launching into Varicose Veins, and I still got the \"Levels don't match\" error. I have the kernel modules loaded, and I erased 1.4 and installed 1.3, didn't give me any errors. I'm running the 1.4b Loki client.

(edit ^2) I tried Subway Dancer, got the same error. Pretty sure I have the right level files.

(edit ^3) NEVER FREAKING MIND, I'm teh moron, the daemon died in the background, fired up the daemon and all is well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:33 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
lol :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:05 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Sugoi .., new version has arrived.

Download 1.5 (see links above).

Why? Otherwise you will miss THAT:
Image


Of course: Magnum and Black Pyro has been added successfully. Fixed the Checksum replacement on level change also.

Have Phun!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:26 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
OH MY GOSH!! I can't wait to get home and try this now! How did you get all the games to show up in the list? I usually have to alt-enter out and get a new ip to type in and connect to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 4:30 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
OH MY FREAKING EYE

Tried Subway Dancer, worked with the GL and not the the BP... will try again in a bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 6:28 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
WTF? All of a sudden, it's crashing.. here's what I get.

/usr/local/sbin/d3fixd &
[1] 15427
stickman-linux:/home/stickman/Desktop # starting Filter
Reloading Checksums: 3084
### Here's where I try to join a game ###
stickman-linux:/home/stickman/Desktop # (tap) Can't get interface IP address at Net/RawIP.pm line 234.
[1]+ Exit 99 /usr/local/sbin/d3fixd


Any ideas? I can launch D3, it shows the IP address, but when I click \"Join Game\" nothing shows up in the bottom window, and the fix daemon dies. It shouldn't matter, but my net card is eth1... I don't know. It worked this morning.

(edit) went back to version 1.3, and it works fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 1484
Location: California
Munk, you are my hero. So far it works perfectly for me. All I can say is WOW! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

sugoi! sugoi! sugoi!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:44 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 5:15 pm
Posts: 382
I was wondering if this could be used, or sometime in the future be used, to run a linux server that does allows other windows games to connect to it.

It would be nice if I could eventually chuck the need to run it under wine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:42 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
@FunkyStickman: sent you an PM.

@Nosferatu: yes, should be no problem. Just filter the other way around and have a reverse lookup. Will try that next week. But Loki can only run one instance only at the same time, since you can't tell it which port to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:57 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 5944
All right, you're in the PD news. Keep up the great work. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:40 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
Ok, as the last bugs have been fixed and no new have been reported, I'll try to add some options to allow loki servers, disable internet/lan scan etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:20 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
I just found a bug! I'm running the 1.6 filter, and when I try to auto-download a level, D3 crashes with a Segfault (Signal 11). I stopped the filter, re-tried the level, and it downloaded without a problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:56 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
This bug does not appear on my machine.
Which Server, which mission, which ship ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:43 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
It was on D1.Descent.cx and the level was \"D3 Krackdown\". I was in the Pyro-GL.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:35 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 82
Location: Germany
I'm sorry Funky, I can't reproduce this bug. Seems fine on my machine. Only the third download URL works. At other locations, I get an \"Unable to download mission\", but Descent does not crash.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:06 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 304
Location: 'Nawlins
Very interesting. It's not a deal-breaker, so I can live with it. If I run across anything else like this, I'll let you know. It could have just been D3 crapping out because it couldn't download it.

Again, fantastic work, keep it up.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group